Hawkins County Trustee Print

Pay Property Taxes Online

patcourtneyJim Shanks was elected in 2014 as the Trustee for Hawkins County.  Jim grew up in Hawkins County where he graduated from Cherokee High School.  He attended East Tennessee State University where he attained an Associate of Applied Science in Criminology and a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting.  Following College Jim began a career which spanned over twenty years serving his community in law enforcement.

Jim is Married to Kristi (Bean) Shanks and they have two children, Ben and Addie.  Jim and his family reside in the Surgoinsville area of Hawkins County.

He is a member of the Tennessee Trustee's Association,  East Tennessee Trustee's Association, and the County Officials Association of Tennessee.  Jim is committed to continue serving the citizens of Hawkins County to the best of his ability with a professional and honest staff which maintains a high level of integrity and work ethic.  The Trustee's office has an open door policy and is willing to offer assistance and answer questions about the services provided for the citizens of Hawkins County.  Jim looks forward to the opportunity of serving the citizens of the county which he proudly calls home.

The Trustee serves three primary functions:
(1) Collection of all county property taxes
(All property, real and personal, tangible and intangible, must be assessed for taxation by the state, or its political subdivisions, unless property is declared to be exempt by some provision of Tennessee law)
(2) Keep a fair and regular account of all money received
(3) Invest temporarily idle county funds

The Trustee is the county’s banker and tax collector, and maintains the  county’s funds.  The Trustee also oversees the total annual cash flow for all county finances.

The Trustee disburses sales tax revenues and other state and local taxes, and generally acts as treasurer for the county, receiving and paying out funds.  The Trustee must keep a detailed account of these transactions.

Based on property tax assessments provided by the office of the Assessor of Property and the property tax rate as set by the County Commission, the Trustee determines the amount of your property tax bill.  Tax bills are mailed after County Commission sets the tax rate and passes the budget (usually no later than October 15). Tax bills become delinquent if not paid by the last day in February of the following year.  As tax collector, the Trustee processes all tax bills and collects all money owed.

In addition, the Trustee administers a State funded Tax Relief Program to help the elderly and disabled citizens pay their property taxes. For qualifying applicants, the State of Tennessee will pay a portion of the property taxes for their home.  Application must be completed no later than April 4 after the February 28 tax payment deadline.

Important Dates:

October 1 - February 28: Taxes are payable without interest and penalty.
March 1 and later: Interest and penalty of 1½% is added each month.

Additional Information:

2014 County Tax Rate:  $2.465 per $100 of value

Tax calculator information can be found HERE

We do take partial payments.  A signed form (by property owner) is required each tax year before payment can be made.

Tax payments can be made by cash, check, money order, debit or credit card (Master Card or Visa).  A processing fee of 2.65% of tax bill and convenience fee of $1.00 will be charged at time the card is processed.

We have a tax relief program for elderly, disabled and special disabled veterans.  Income is a factor for the tax relief program.  Proof of income is required.

On-line payments can be made (same fees apply) by Master Card, Visa or echeck.  Click here to make an online payment.



Brandy Morgan, Chief Deputy Trustee/ Bookkeeper
Jessie Hensley, Deputy Trustee / Tax Relief Officer
Veda Davis, Deputy Trustee/  Satellite Office Manager

Hours of Operation:

Rogersville:    8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  Monday – Friday

Church Hill:     8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  Monday – Friday - October 15 – March 15

Contact Information:

Rogersville Courthouse Annex Office
110 East Main Street Room 203
Rogersville, TN 37857
Phone:  (423) 272-7022
Fax:  (423) 272-8267
Church Hill Office (October 16 - March 15)
300 East Main Boulevard
Church Hill, TN 37642
(No mail is delivered to this address/office)
Phone:  (423) 357-4350
Fax:  (423) 357- 4391