Hawkins County Chancery Court Clerk and Master Print

Holly H Jaynes, Chancery Court Clerk and Master

Douglas T. Jenkins, Chancellor.

Local Rules of Court may be found here:  Local Rules

Download Chancery Court Fees Here: Chancery Court Filing Fees

Chancery Court Sales:   June 9, 2018   June 16, 2018

Current Delinquent Tax Sale Info:  August 15, 2018


The Chancery Court is a Trial Court of general original jurisdiction of all cases of an equitable nature, where the debt or demand exceeds fifty dollars; and every matter of equitable cognizance above said amount is presumed to be within its inherent jurisdiction as a Court of Equity. Established by the Constitution of the State of Tennessee, the Chancery Court has original jurisdiction as a Court of Equity.

Established by the Constitution of the State of Tennessee, the Chancery Court has original jurisdiction over certain other matters, as assigned to it by the legislature, some of them exclusively, others concurrently with the Circuit Court. The Chancery Court collects and distributes child support, collects delinquent property taxes for the county and city, probates estates and administers conservatorships and investment of litigant funds paid into the court's registry. The Clerk and Master is the principal administrative aide to the Chancery Court, docket maintenance, revenue management, maintenance of court minutes, official communication, and various other court-associated duties. The Clerk and Master is appointed by the Chancellor for a six-year term pursuant to the State Constitution.

The Clerk and Master files civil matters in Chancery Court including probate matters and collects delinquent taxes.  Pursuant to Local Rules, probate matters require representation by an attorney.


Chancery Court begins at 10:00 A.M.  We no longer have docket soundings and cases can be scheduled by selecting a date from those listed below and sending a Notice of Hearing or letter to the Clerk and Master.  All jury trials and multi-day trials MUST be set by the Chancellor's office with a confirmation sent to the Clerk and Master, either by Notice of Hearing or letter. 


May 16, 17, 22;
June 6, 8, 26, 27;
July 17 (set uncontested matters only), 18, 24
August 6, 7, 20, 21 (set uncontested cases only)
September 12, 13, 24, 25
October 3, 9, 10, 30
November 7, 16, 26, 27
December 4, 5, 18
DATES OF INTEREST: Judicial Conference March 5-9, 2018; Judicial Conference October 22-25, 2018

HOLIDAYS:    January 1, 15; February 19; March 30; May 1, 28; July 4; August 2; September 3; October 8, 12; Novermber 6, 12, 22, 23; December 24, 25, 26, 31; January 1, 2019


Passport Information

The Hawkins County Chancery Court accepts passport applications on behalf of the U.S. Department of State.  U.S. Citizens planning international travel may apply for their passports Monday - Friday from 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM at 100 E. Main Street, Suite 316, Rogersville, TN 37857.  
We now make passport photos in our office.

For application forms, documentation required, fees and other information visit  www.travel.state.gov


L-R:  Jeanette Barrett, Goldia Williams, Holly Jaynes, Chancellor Jenkins, Deanna Russell, Sheryl Foster.

 Holly H. Jaynes, Clerk and Master, was appointed in October 2010 by Chancellor Thomas R. Frierson.  Prior to her appointment, she served as Circuit Court Clerk for 16 years.  She is married to John Jaynes, who retired from Quebecor Printing following 38 years of service.  They are active members of East Rogersville Missionary Baptist Church and have two daughters, Renee (Ted) Trent and Andrea (Steve) Harbin, and five grandchildren, Tanner, Teagan and Tatum Trent and Caroline and Ella Harbin.  
Holly is a member of the East TN Court Clerks’ Assn., Tennessee State Court Clerk’s Assn., County Officials Assn. of TN, and TN Assn. of Property Tax Professionals.  She was designated a Certified Public Administrator in 1997 through the County Officials Certificate Training Program and is re-certified each year following at least 16 hours of training.



This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Sheryl Foster, Deputy Clerk
Deanna Russell, Deputy Clerk
Goldia Williams, Deputy Clerk
Jeanette Barrett, Deputy Clerk

Contact Information:

PhoneVoice: 423-272-8150  Fax: 423-272-7347


Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.


Hawkins County Clerk and Master
100 E. Main Street, Suite 316
Rogersville, TN  37857