image image image image
Our Rich Heritage and History Today Hawkins County has a population of over fifty thousand. Church Hill is the largest city, followed by Rogersville, Mount Carmel, Surgoinsville, and Bulls Gap.

The Hawkins County school system supports
twelve elementary schools, three middle schools,
three high schools, and an enrichment center.
Learn More >>
Enjoy an Outing in Our Parks Laurel Run Park, set stunningly along the placid Holston River, is operated by Hawkins County as a municipal park.

This beautiful park includes river-access, a mountain creek, playground equipment, tennis courts, softball and baseball fields, and more.

The park is open year round. Picnic shelters are available for reservation.   Learn More >>
A Good Mix of Industry and Agriculture Hawkins County is a great place for industry and farming. The education of our workforce is as fertile as our rolling farmlands.
Discover Hawkins Counties fine area public schools, colleges & universities, and major institutions.

Learn More >>
Do You Have An Emergency Plan? Your family's safety depends on preparing for the unexpected.

Check out our Emergency Management Agency Preparedness section to help develop your plan.

Learn More >>
Home Government
PDF Print E-mail



Notice is hereby given that the Church Hill Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, July 13 2010.  The purpose of this election is to elect three (3) Aldermen-at-Large for the term of four (4) years. Terms beginning July 20, 2010 and ending on July, 2014. 


Last day for a candidate to file a qualifying petition with the County Election office is 12:00 Noon on Thursday, April 15, 2010. 


Last day a candidate who qualified by the qualifying deadline may withdraw his/her name from the ballot is 12:00 Noon, Thursday, April 22.  Any such request must be in writing, signed by the candidate and submitted to the County Election Commission office. 


Monday, June 14, 2010, is the last day to register to vote in person or hand deliver registration forms to the County Election Commission office.  Mail Registration forms postmarked on June 14th  will be processed.  Any forms postmarked after this date shall be held and processed after the election.


Last day the Election Office may receive a written request for an absentee ballot is Tuesday, July 6th . However the request will serve as an application for a ballot if the request contains the following information:

  • (A) The name of the registered voter;
  • (B) The address of the voter's residence;
  • (C) The voter's social security number;
  • (D) The address to mail the ballot outside the county, except as provided in 2-6-201 (d)-Persons possessing a valid commercial driver license.

Last day an application for an absentee ballot or temporary registration or both from armed forces and overseas voter by mail is Tuesday, July 6th.  Early Voting by Personal Appearance will begin on Wednesday, June 23, through Thursday, July 8, 2010.      The Early Voting hours will be established after the qualifying and withdrawal deadlines.  This decision will be made by the Hawkins County Election Commission. 

Please note the Election Commission office will be closed on Monday, July 5th , in observance for the Independence Holiday.

Pursuant to TCA Law, 2-3-109, notice is hereby given to handicapped, disabled and elderly voters in inaccessible voting precincts; you have the right to come to the County Election Commission office to vote, either during the period established for Early Voting or on Election Day.  However, if this is the first time to request to vote pursuant to this provision, the voter must provide the Election Commission office with written notice by Saturday, June 28, 2008, of his/her intention to vote at the Election Commission office on Election Day.

The Hawkins County Election Commission office is located in the Rogersville Courthouse-Annex, Main Street, Rogersville, TN 37857. We are in the process of moving therefore for more information, call the Election Commission office 423-272-8061, visit our website or e-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Patricia Lumpkins,

Administrator of Elections