image image image image
Our Rich Heritage and History Today Hawkins County has a population of over fifty thousand. Church Hill is the largest city, followed by Rogersville, Mount Carmel, Surgoinsville, and Bulls Gap.

The Hawkins County school system supports
twelve elementary schools, three middle schools,
three high schools, and an enrichment center.
Learn More >>
Enjoy an Outing in Our Parks Laurel Run Park, set stunningly along the placid Holston River, is operated by Hawkins County as a municipal park.

This beautiful park includes river-access, a mountain creek, playground equipment, tennis courts, softball and baseball fields, and more.

The park is open year round. Picnic shelters are available for reservation.   Learn More >>
A Good Mix of Industry and Agriculture Hawkins County is a great place for industry and farming. The education of our workforce is as fertile as our rolling farmlands.
Discover Hawkins Counties fine area public schools, colleges & universities, and major institutions.

Learn More >>
Do You Have An Emergency Plan? Your family's safety depends on preparing for the unexpected.

Check out our Emergency Management Agency Preparedness section to help develop your plan.

Learn More >>
Hawkins County Trustee PDF Print E-mail

Pay Property Taxes Online 

patcourtneyPatsy Charles-Courtney was born and raised in Hawkins County, the daughter of Ruth Winstead Charles and the late Frank Charles.  She is married to Billy Ray Courtney and they have two children, Todd and Tabby.  They are the proud grandparents of Angel, Faith, Brandon, Jessie, and Geriad.

Ms. Courtney graduated from Rogersville High School and began her employment with Hawkins County on July 31, 1984.  She served as the bookkeeper in the County Clerk’s office for 21 years and was appointed Trustee by County Commission effective October 1, 2005 to fulfill the unexpired term of the retiring trustee and was elected to the office in 2006.

She is a member of the East Tennessee Trustee’s Association, Tennessee Trustee’s Association, County Officials Association of Tennessee, Hawkins County Republican Party and Hawkins County Republican Women.

Ms. Courtney is committed to serving the citizens of Hawkins County within the budget allocated to the office and to provide the highest level of service and efficiency to the best of her ability.  She has an open door policy to all citizens of Hawkins County and offers any assistance that they need concerning her office.


The Trustee serves three primary functions:
(1) Collection of all county property taxes
(All property, real and personal, tangible and intangible, must be assessed for taxation by the state, or its political subdivisions, unless property is declared to be exempt by some provision of Tennessee law)
(2) Keep a fair and regular account of all money received
(3) Invest temporarily idle county funds

The Trustee is the county’s banker and tax collector, and maintains the  county’s funds.  The Trustee also oversees the total annual cash flow for all county finances.

The Trustee disburses sales tax revenues and other state and local taxes, and generally acts as treasurer for the county, receiving and paying out funds.  The Trustee must keep a detailed account of these transactions.

Based on property tax assessments provided by the office of the Assessor of Property and the property tax rate as set by the County Commission, the Trustee determines the amount of your property tax bill.  Tax bills are mailed after County Commission sets the tax rate and passes the budget (usually no later than October 15). Tax bills become delinquent if not paid by the last day in February of the following year.  As tax collector, the Trustee processes all tax bills and collects all money owed.

In addition, the Trustee administers a State funded Tax Relief Program to help the elderly and disabled citizens pay their property taxes. For qualifying applicants, the State of Tennessee will pay a portion of the property taxes for their home.  Application must be completed no later than April 4 after the February 28 tax payment deadline.

Important Dates:

October 1 - February 28: Taxes are payable without interest and penalty.
March 1 and later: Interest and penalty of 1½% is added each month.

Additional Information:

2009 County Tax Rate:  $2.705 per $100 of value

We do take partial payments.  A signed form (by property owner) is required each tax year before payment can be made.

Tax payments can be made by cash, check, money order, debit or credit card (Master Card or Visa).  A processing fee of 2.25% of tax bill and convenience fee of $2.00 will be charged at time the card is processed.

We have a tax relief program for elderly, disabled and special disabled veterans.  Income is a factor for the tax relief program.  Proof of income is required.

On-line payments can be made (same fees apply) by Master Card, Visa or echeck.  Click here to make an online payment.



Sandra Stewart, Deputy Trustee
Vickie Pike, Deputy Trustee
Brandy Morgan, Deputy Trustee  

Hours of Operation:

Rogersville:    8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  Monday – Friday
                     8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Saturday during December & February

Church Hill:     8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  Monday – Friday - October 15 – March 15
                     8:00 a.m. -  12:00 p.m. Saturday - December & February 

Contact Information:

Rogersville Office
110 East Main Street, Room 203
Rogersville, TN  37857

Church Hill Office
300 East Main Boulevard
Church Hill, TN  37642
(No Mail Delivered To This Address)

Phone Numbers
Rogersville: 423-272-7022
Church Hill: 423-357-4391
          Fax: 423-272-8267